VENETA, Ore. — State forestland in Lane, Douglas, Coos, Jackson, Josephine, and Klamath counties are closed to public entry and use until further notice.

This includes the Gilchrist and Sun Pass state forests in Klamath County. Closure is necessary due to the current extreme fire conditions that are endangering life, forest resources, and property as well as very limited fire and emergency response resources.

This move means that all lands managed by the Oregon Department of Forestry are closed to public use. It also includes the Tillamook, Clatsop and Santiam state forests and other ODF-managed forestlands in Lane, Douglas, Coos, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Polk, Lincoln, & Benton counties. The Santiam State Forest is closed until further notice. Other closures in northwest Oregon will last until at least Sunday, Sept. 13 at 11 p.m.