The Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) is pleased to announce the graduation of its 120th Basic Telecommunications Class.

The three-week course includes emergency call handling techniques, stress management, civil liability, ethics, criminal law, overview of fire-rescue and law enforcement operations, and a number of other topics. Upon completion of the course, students will return to their employing agency to continue their training for a number of months with a field training officer.

The 9-1-1 training program began in 1993 when the Oregon Legislative Assembly enacted legislation which requires that individuals who receive emergency calls for assistance from the public, meet professional standards for training and certification. There are approximately 950 men and women across the state who work in this profession in city, county, tribal, regional, and state public safety communications centers.

Basic Telecommunications #BT120 Graduation will be held at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, October 2, 2020, at the Oregon Public Safety Academy, in Salem, Oregon. Telephone: 503-378-2100.  Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the need for social distancing, the graduation will be closed to the public.  However, we would like to publicly congratulate Basic Telecommunications Class #BT 120 for a successful completion of their Basic Training.

Members of Basic Telecommunications Class #120:


Dispatcher Lorin Alexander

  • Klamath 9-1-1 Communications District


Dispatcher John Bustard

  • Umatilla Tribal Police Department


Dispatcher Alexis Bynon

  • W.C.C.C.A.


Dispatcher Alexander Doby

  • METCOM 9-1-1


Dispatcher Angela Drorbaugh

  • Yamhill Communications


Dispatcher Sarah Ferris

  • Tillamook County 911


Dispatcher Carsen Funkhouser

  • W.C.C.C.A.


Dispatcher Larissa Hackett

  • Klamath 9-1-1 Communications District


Dispatcher Kaylee Hamm

  • Willamette Valley Communications Center


Dispatcher Alexis Hayes

  • Corvallis Police Department


Dispatcher Roderick Hogan

  • W.C.C.C.A.


Dispatcher Melody Holmes

  • Frontier Regional 9-1-1


Dispatcher Iliya Kuzmenko

  • Willamette Valley Communications Center


Dispatcher Jessica Lundmark

  • W.C.C.C.A.


Dispatcher Jacob Olson

  • Yamhill Communications


Dispatcher Kylee Peck

  • Umatilla County Sheriff’s Office


Dispatcher Erika Powell

  • Willamette Valley Communications Center


Dispatcher Annabelle Thompson

  • W.C.C.C.A.


Dispatcher Kimberly Whanger

  • Columbia 9-1-1 Communications District


Dispatcher Jennifer Zeman

  • W.C.C.C.A.