KLAMATH FALLS, Ore. – Dr. Charles “C.J.” Riley, professor of Civil Engineering at Oregon Tech, received the 2021 Outstanding Teaching Award from the Pacific Northwest Section of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). Dr. Riley received the award earlier in April at the virtual ASEE Annual Conference.

The award recognizes faculty on the basis of classroom performance, contributions to teaching scholarship, and participation with ASEE. Dr. Riley has been recognized previously for his teaching by the ASEE Mechanics Division and the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). His nomination package documented his solid and increasing course evaluation scores, his consistent record of publications and presentations at ASEE conferences, his National Science Foundation project investigating student laboratory report writing, his leadership in the Civil Engineering Division of ASEE, and his promotion of faculty professional development through teaching workshops with ASCE and at Oregon Tech.

In conferring the award, the Section President, Dr. David Hurwitz of Oregon State University said, “We recognize C.J. Riley, Professor of Civil Engineering at Oregon Institute of Technology, for his demonstrated excellence in physical, virtual, and laboratory classrooms; his commitment and service to ASEE, particularly in the Civil Engineering Division; and his enthusiastic promotion of faculty professional development nationally and at Oregon Tech.”

Dr. Roger Lindgren, department chair of Civil Engineering, shared, “Dr. Riley is a shining example of a teaching scholar and we are extremely proud of him! C.J.’s boundless energy and dedication to his students creates an exciting atmosphere of learning and exploration. We are lucky to have an educator of his caliber in the Civil Engineering Department here at Oregon Tech.”

Dr. Riley has been a professor at Oregon Tech for 13 years and is a Registered Professional Engineer in Oregon. He received a Bachelor of Science from Swarthmore College, and a Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy from Colorado State University, Fort Collins.