October 20, 2021, Klamath Falls, Ore. – The Oregon Tech Honors Program inducted 23 new members Saturday, Oct. 16, before an audience of their friends, family and peers.

The Honors Program, a specialized academic option for high-achieving students of all academic majors, provides an interdisciplinary education designed to prepare future leaders and professionals for successful careers and meaningful lives. The Honors Program provides Oregon Tech students with a complementary academic curriculum and a collection of extracurricular learning experiences that promote a more well-rounded future career professional, a socially responsible person, and a connected and liberally educated student.

Students in the Oregon Tech Honors Program participate in various activities, including Idea, Question and Answer Seminars, Honors Option Courses, Our World to Lead and Serve (OWLS) Projects, Honors Connections Events, Honors Experiential Learning and Inquiry in Outdoor Settings (HELIOS) Fieldtrips. Dedicated Honors Program Core Faculty provide interaction and guidance throughout the program.

“Oregon Tech’s Honors Program is comprised of a select group of students who not only pursue but have achieved academic excellence in their course of study,” said Christopher J. Syrnyk, Ph.D., director of the Honors Program and associate professor of Communication. “While engaging in this rigorous course of study, Honors students demonstrate exemplary academic and human skills and are passionate about using their intellectual gifts to advance their own pursuit of knowledge as they prepare to embark upon careers of meaning as they make contributions to improving society.”

Qualified students at the Klamath Falls campus are invited to apply for the Honors Program. Honors Program students are asked to have a 3.5 GPA or higher when they apply to the program, complete a set of application essays, and participate in an interview as needed.

Students inducted into the Honors Program:

Lane Abraham, Pre-Medical Imaging Technology (Cottage Grove)

Makenna Adams, Pre-Medical Imaging Technology (Hillsboro)

Sadie Brackeen, Civil Engineering (Ridgefield, Washington)

Eva Brady, Pre-Medical Imaging Technology (Veneta)

Theron Gray, Mechanical Engineering (Klamath Falls)

Luke Hongel, Mechanical Engineering (Vancouver, Washington)

Ben Horwitt, Biology-Health Sciences (Yreka, California)

Doug Houser, Dual Renewable Energy Engineering and Electrical Engineering (Danville, Pennsylvania)

Kai Fontanilla, Mechanical Engineering (Olympia, Washington)

Dylan Jackson, Electrical Engineering (Aptos, California)

Megan Jordan, Biology-Health Sciences (Klamath Falls)

Zoe Krichko, Biology-Health Sciences (Klamath Falls)

Thomas Long, Biology-Health Sciences (Barstow, California)

Terren Maplethorpe, Biology-Health Sciences (Carlton)

Brandon Moehlmann, Embedded Systems Engineering Technology (Creswell)

Josh Moore, Renewable Energy Engineering (Happy Valley)

Derek Munn, Renewable Energy Engineering (Columbus, Ohio)

Ezra Neese, Electrical Engineering (Bonanza)

Keora O’Meara, Renewable Energy Engineering (Scappoose)

Neal Regruto, Psychology (Montague, California)

Spencer Storey, Mechanical Engineering (Bend)

Raine Wilcox, Pre-Nursing (Klamath Falls)

Abigayle Wilson, Dental Hygiene (Coos Bay)